December – A Festive One ingredient challenge: Ginger

Ginger

I sitting here late at night, surrounded by packing boxes, about to move into rental property for a few months until we buy a house in Cambridge. I’m really looking forward to a larger space to live, play and work than we have in London, but while we are renting our space and lifestyle are going to be restricted. Not wanting to pack and unpack repeatedly I am having to edit my life. What will we really need for the next three or four months?
Well since cooking and eating forms a large part of our home life the selection of core books we want to use was a fun challenge. Here is my selection. What do you think?

20121204-232007.jpg
I’d love other suggestions before the packers come on Thursday! What are your essential cookbooks? I have my iPad so some nigella books are on there too- including the excellent Christmas one, but I do like browsing a hard copy and these books are a pleasure to look through.

Now we cannot ignore that the festive season is upon us. Christmas baking often involves the sensory delights of fruit and spices. Ginger, a warming spice is very much a staple in many festive bakes. So I have chosen this for the one ingredient challenge I host on alternate months with Laura at how to cook good food.
Here are the basic guidelines for the One Ingredient Challenge.

-The recipe does not have to be showy or complicated – just family friendly
It can be sweet or savoury (depending on the ingredient and your taste!)
-You can use an old blog post if you wish but please let us know and please add the monthly one ingredient logo – we will create an appropriate logo for each month!
-Feel free to enter the recipe to other challenges as well.
-Please give credit if you use other people’s recipes and link to the source as appropriate.
-Please include a link to http://www.franglaiskitchen.com and http://www.howtocookgoodfood.co.uk as the challenge hosts.
-If you tweet your recipes and use the hashtag #oneingredient we will retweet all those that we see.
-We will do a roundup post at the beginning of January and link back to your posts.

Feel free to enter by either leaving a comment below with the link to your post and/or emailing it to franglaiskitchen@gmail.com

I will add a linky code in as well tomorrow if you find that easier.
Whichever way you do it, if you link to this post and to Laura’s blog I will hopefully be able to track you down!

Tags: ,

Categories: feature, header

Want to keep up with recipes and stories from Franglais Kitchen? Follow by email

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

21 Comments on “December – A Festive One ingredient challenge: Ginger”

  1. marmadukescarlet1
    December 5, 2012 at 12:03 AM #

    I love your selection – I have some of those but not all. I would probably add The Oxford Companion to Food, Jane Grigson’s English Food and the latest Nigel Slater Kitchen Diaries II or maybe his Tender I – sheesh it’s a hard decision!

  2. laura_howtocook
    December 5, 2012 at 8:15 AM #

    I love your selection of books and I would have to add in Stephanie Alexander’s The Cook’s Companion. There are many more but that will do as it is huge and covers so many ingredients.
    Wishing you lots of luck on your move and I shall enjoy the Ginger One Ingredient challenge this month! xx

  3. December 10, 2012 at 9:29 AM #

    Hi, Link to my Gingerbread house, first ever attempt and rather a little pleased http://www.cakesphotoslife.co.uk/gingerbread-house-recipe-ingredient-ginger/ thank you x

  4. December 11, 2012 at 10:16 AM #

    JUST posted my entry, cannot find a linky though! Karen
    http://wp.me/p287Dn-3w3

  5. December 13, 2012 at 2:11 PM #

    Ginger one of my favourite ingredients…it is not a typical Italian ingredient…but perfect for asian food nights! I look forward to read the linked recipes

  6. December 15, 2012 at 8:47 AM #

    A great selection here and I’m so pleased you are looking forward to your move to Cambridge. I have most of those – apart from ZIlli Light. Have entered the One Ingredient challenge this month. Also, just posted a round up of SImple and in Season November with a thank you for October x

  7. December 17, 2012 at 8:49 AM #

    Here’s my Tagine (with a teaspoon of ginger!) http://www.london-unattached.com/2012/12/chicken-tagine-with-preserved-lemons-and-olives/

  8. December 17, 2012 at 10:34 AM #

    Brilliant selection of books – I also love Hugh Fernly Whittingstalls’ Vegetables.

    My entry for the link up is http://adventuresofalondonkiwi.blogspot.com/2012/10/kiwi-cooking-ginger-slice.html it’s not mine originally, but oh so good!

  9. December 19, 2012 at 9:56 AM #

    Hi Nazima!! I love your books, my favourite are Ottolenghi and Zilli! I still have all my books in boxes (I moved SIX MONTHS AGO). I found a good recipe which contains ginger and I’ve sent an email with the post link for One Ingredient challenge.

  10. December 23, 2012 at 4:42 PM #

    Now picking out just a few cookbooks is a really hard one, but it looks as though you’ve got a good selection there.

    I love ginger, so was really pleased I managed to make something for this challenge. Here’s a link to my oaty ginger and chocolate chip cookies
    http://choclogblog.blogspot.co.uk/2012/12/ginger-choc-chip-oat-cookies.html

    Hope you have a great Christmas and that I might manage to catch you for a coffee or something!

  11. December 27, 2012 at 12:39 PM #

    Hello! My entry is up, gingerbread truffles… love ginger so look forward to the round up! http://hungryhinny.wordpress.com/2012/12/27/gingerbread-truffles/

  12. December 28, 2012 at 8:59 AM #

    My Second one ingredient challenge, this time a ginger cake house http://www.cakesphotoslife.co.uk/ginger-cake-house/ 🙂 x

  13. December 29, 2012 at 9:22 PM #

    Hi Nazima

    I hope you have all had a lovely Christmas in your New Home. Here’s my link to the ginger one ingredient, http://atriflerushed.blogspot.fr/2012/12/christmas-cookie-decorating-party.html
    Happy New Year
    Jude x

  14. underthebluegumtree
    December 30, 2012 at 8:43 AM #

    I made some mulled apple juice with ginger http://underthebluegumtree.com/2012/12/30/mulled-apple-juice/ For the adults, you can add a tot of ginger wine. Delish!

  15. December 31, 2012 at 7:03 PM #

    A last minute entry here for the One ingredient challenge – cutting it fine! My entry is Ginger Rocky Road: http://cakecrumbsandcooking.blogspot.co.uk/2012/12/a-ginger-rocky-road.html

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Keep or Give: Christmas Spiced Cranberry and Plum Chutney - Fabulicious Food - December 5, 2012

    […] also linking up to December’s festive One Ingredient Challenge hosted by Nazima at Franglais Kitchen which is ginger – I used ginger spice – hope that counts. You could use half a teaspoon […]

  2. Tea Time Treats, Chocolate and Little Spiced Chocolate Christmas Tree Cakes Recipe - December 11, 2012

    […] is Cinnamon this month and is hosted by Choclette, and also One Ingredient, where the ingredient is Ginger and is hosted by Nazima this month with Laura supporting in the wings……hence […]

  3. Gingerbread truffles | hungryhinny - December 27, 2012

    […] entering these for the December One Ingredient Challenge, hosted by Nazima at Franglais Kitchen and Laura at How to Cook Good Food. Nazima picked ginger as […]

  4. Mulled Apple Juice « Under the Blue Gum tree - December 30, 2012

    […] am entering this recipe into The One Ingredient Challenge which is co-hosted by Nazima of Franglais Kitchen and Laura of How to Cook Good Food as this […]

Leave a Reply

