Pumpkin and Squash recipes galore – October’s one ingredient roundup

I have been remiss in acknowledging and linking back to the wonderful selection of recipes for October’s One Ingredient challenge, the ingredient based recipe link up that I host with Laura at How to Cook Good Food. I am in the process of moving job, home and family from London to Cambridge, so I hope my friends will forgive me!

October was Pumpkin and Squash and what a feast of ideas we got from fellow foodies.

Kellie over at Food to Glow is cooking up some amazing butternut squash and black bean tacos. Absolutely beautiful and super healthy like most stuff on her blog.

japanese butternut squash tacos

Ren presents this recipe from Jerusalem the cookbook by Ottolenghi – spiced roasted squash with Tahini and Za’atar

Roasted Squash Tahini Za'atarhai

Which was something I also did as my entry this month – In my version I added some dill pollen to the spice mix, and served the squash with roasted onion and pan fried Halloumi and polenta.

butternut roasted, ottolenghi

Rita, one of several Italian food blogs I follow that never fail to inspire nor ever fail to make me hungry, presents roasted squash with Salsa Verde.

There is Alida over at My Little Italian Kitchen. She has a Northern Italian specialty- pumpkin bread. She has made pumpkin bread whirls with raisin. And they are sugar free too so a relatively healthy treat.

dscf3874m

More pumpkins now with Roz from The more than occasional baker, presenting spiced pumpkin chocolate chip bars.

A perfect snack and one I shall be making for my daughters lunchbox.

Spices and pumpkin in this pumpkin rum and spice loaf cake from Laura at How to cook good food. She has had a harvest of pumpkins from her allotment which is a great source of ingredients for her inventive and accessible recipes.

Winter is a time for slow cooking and stews are perfect. Clare from the vegetarian experience presents a lovely warming winter stew with squash and chickpeas. 

And now how about something different. This Chilli with Beef, Chocolate and Pumpkin from Karen at Lavender and Lovage. It must have a wonderful depth of flavour.

Bonfire Chilli with Beef, Chocolate and Pumpkin

Jen at Blue Kitchen Bakes made a wonderful Pumpkin Cake for halloween. Cleverly she used a bundt tin to get the right shape and the icing is a perfect pumpkin shade. Spooktastic!

Katharine over at Leeks and Limoni made a beautiful chocolate pumpkin cake . Like her I have tended to make my pumpkin puree from scratch though I know you can buy the cans of puree in the UK now too!

Sian, at Fishfingers for Tea gives a texture and flavour overhaul to falafel by adding roasted squash which I am sure must make it delicious and moist. One to try.

This recipe from the Garden Deli for Autumn Pizza uses roasted squash in the topping looks beautiful.  I like the idea of a non tomato based pizza and I imagine this must be a great comfort dish!

Louisa at Chez Foti has had a bumper harvest of pumpkin and Squash and was really creative with her recipes.  Here is a Butternut, feta and red onion tart. I like the combination of sweet, roasted squash and red onion with the salt of feta and the herbs.

And for dessert, here is Louisa’s Chocolate Pumpkin Cake that she made with her kids, and looks like a very dense, brownie like cake. Absolutely delicious, and great photos too.

And how about this roasted squash with Feta and Chorizo over at Gingey bites. I love the colours and flavour combinations here.

Caroline made a roasted squash which she stuffed with a couscous mix. A lovely vegetarian main course I think.

Jenny makes one of my favourite soups – butternut squash but with the kick of chilli and the calming influence of coconut milk, this Thai inspired soup is a great winter warmer!

Over at Cake, Crumbs and Cooking, these delicious Pumpkin, Chocolate and Ginger cupcakes definitely get my vote.

And these eggless pumpkin and chocolate chip muffins from Nivedhanams food blog look so pretty, great for those on restricted diets.

IMG_5336 - Copy

Jen had a late night baking session to relieve some work stress and came up with these lovely pumpkin and white chocolate nutty blondies. 

And if you are looking for snacks- these pumpkin, cranberry and chocolate flapjacks come courtesy of Fleur and looks very moreish to me!

Pumpkin, cranberry and chocolate flapjack

And Hungry Hinny has some lovely pumpkin spiced flapjacks that are also gluten free. Apparently the flapjacks stay lovely and chewy – exactly how I like them.

And a pumpkin cookie over at Cake of the week went down so well she had to rapidly make a second batch!

Now take a look at this  pumpkin and chocolate layer cake from Laura loves Cake. lovely colours and layers.

Caroline makes this pumpkin chocolate cheesecake. I love the idea of this seasonal cheesecake variation and the swirls of pumpkin sound seriously delicious.

Another Pumpkin Cheesecake from Papers and cakes – this one has a ginger biscuit base, adding extra spice.

For another spiced cake, here is a chai spiced Pumpkin cake that Jenny made using grated pumpkin and vanilla chai tea. The warming spices must make this perfect for a winter cake treat.

The Dan Lepard recipe for Chocolate Pumpkin Mud cake got a mention and a bake over at Under the blue gum tree. This cake is really dense and chocolatey. I made a version of it too recently and it is certainly full of flavour, with pumpkin, pecan and a lovely layer of frosting

I found this recipe for pumpkin pie fudge over at Foodycat really inventive. It is a white chocolate fudge with pumpkin puree and spices mixed in and to make it perfectly seasonal it was shaped into mini pumpkin shapes. I am rather partial to fudge so this is worth a try.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: header

Want to keep up with recipes and stories from Franglais Kitchen? Follow by email

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Pumpkin and Squash recipes galore – October’s one ingredient roundup”

  1. November 30, 2012 at 2:03 AM #

    Great round-up!

  2. November 30, 2012 at 8:35 AM #

    Huge round up, and an amazing variety of recipes from one ingredient- well done! Good luck with your move, hope everything goes smoothly and that you and the family are soon settled into your new home.

  3. November 30, 2012 at 3:41 PM #

    What a great round-up, love squash – some fab recipes to check out.

  4. November 30, 2012 at 7:39 PM #

    what a wonderful round up!

  5. laura_howtocook
    November 30, 2012 at 8:26 PM #

    I am so impressed that you have found time to do this round up at all. You have so much going on at the moment but it is all good and very exciting. This is a fantastic collection of pumpkin recipes, many of which I shall be recreating although sadly not with any of my own squashes they are long gone now.
    So sorry not to see you at the Gift Swap today but I wish you lots of luck for your move next week xxx

  6. November 30, 2012 at 8:58 PM #

    Oh dear, I’m feeling guilty about asking you to do WSC this month now – you should have said no Nazima. Good luck.

    This is indeed a wonderful collection of recipes and should keep me happily amused for years to come (assuming our squashes ever grow properly again)! It was probably my fault and I may have forgotten to let you know, but my pumpkin recipe isn’t here. I’ve included a link here, so hope that’s OK.
    http://choclogblog.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/pumpkin-and-goats-cheese-tarragon.html

  7. December 2, 2012 at 9:58 AM #

    Hi Nazima, hope the move with the job and location goes well. A beautiful round up of pumpkin and squash recipes. I’m really drawn to the pumkin bread whirls with raisins.

  8. December 3, 2012 at 6:59 AM #

    Hi Nazima! Thank you for posting this round up, it must be very difficult to do anything but working around your family+house+job. I moved last May and I still have problems to settle down (the house is a building site!!). Great recipes and a lot of ideas for cooking my beloved squashes!!

  9. December 4, 2012 at 2:12 PM #

    What a fabulous array of recipes in a gorgeous, and colourful, round up. Wishing you all the best for your big move! Louisa

  10. December 4, 2012 at 7:20 PM #

    Well done doing the round up with everything that’s going on with you at the moment! There’s some great entries and lots to explore.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. October and November Veg of the Month: Pumpkin and Squash « Chez Foti - December 4, 2012

    […] say PLEASE do have a look at the fabulous array of squash and pumpkinie recipes in October’s  One Ingredient Challenge and We Should Cocoa. Prepare to be amazed! And my December Veg of the Month is the humble […]

  2. Recipes to use up pumpkin and squash | Tots 100 - December 6, 2012

    […] to say PLEASE do have a look at the fabulous array of squash and pumpkinie recipes in October’s One Ingredient Challenge and We Should Cocoa. Prepare to be amazed! And my December Veg of the Month is the humble Parsnip, […]

Leave a Reply

