Christmas treats for Stir Up Sunday – a masterclass at Leith’s with Asda

Today is stir up sunday – the day to cook up your Christmas cakes and puddings. Gives them time to mature you see. Now for once I was ahead of the game. It was stir up Tuesday for me last week as I got a chance to get some cooking tips for Christmas from Leith’s Cookery School and Asda. As one of the leading cookery schools in the country, Leith’s is a mecca for budding chefs and home cooking enthusiasts alike. Asda is working with Leith’s to revamp its Extra Special range, and I was invited to try out some of the Christmas produce.

We had the opportunity to sample canapes and bakes from the Asda Extra Special range which has been developed in collaboration with Leith’s. Lovely mini quiches and some white choc and cranberry coated popcorn were particular winners for me. Some great olives too. I shall be stockpiling these.

As well as making a Christmas Pudding from scratch, we got the chance to sample puddings at different stages of maturation (you can keep a pudding for up to 2 years), make mince pies and decorate some christmas tree shaped biscuits. All in the space of 2 and a half hours, thanks to the Leith’s teachers.

You can see that as well as make the pudding, we got to test out our crafting ability, covering and sealing our Christmas puddings with foil and string. I took it home to steam for 10 hours. It is now sitting patiently, waiting for the big day.

A lovely idea was to pimp up some ready made biscuits (they have some lovely sugar glazed puff pastry ones)by dipping them in an orange flavoured dark chocolate and scattering with pieces of almond or walnut.

Simply delicious, utterly moreish and something that lends itself well to a rainy day activity with kids, or even a way to effortlessly impress your guests at Christmas.

Disclosure: I was the Guest of Asda and Leiths but the text and opinions expressed here are my own.

Did you stir anything up this weekend?

and What are your Kitchen Cheats for effortless entertaining at Christmas?

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: events

Want to keep up with recipes and stories from Franglais Kitchen? Follow by email

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Christmas treats for Stir Up Sunday – a masterclass at Leith’s with Asda”

  1. November 26, 2012 at 4:48 AM #

    What fun, I’m cheating with my pudding this year as I’ve bought one, though everything else cakes, mincemeat etc will be home made!

  2. laura_howtocook
    November 26, 2012 at 8:16 AM #

    I have y Dan Lepard ont to eat from last year but have made his mincemeat this year and a Delia Creole Xmas cake which is divine!

  3. November 26, 2012 at 10:29 AM #

    Like the biscuit ideas. We made Christmas cake this weekend too but planning to do the pud next weekend. I’m making the Nigella one with Pedro Ximenez sherry in. This sherry has such a christmas pudding flavour, any leftover is fab to have in the house during December. Pour a bit over good vanilla ice-cream and you have a really delicious and simple last minute pud if friends turn up.

  4. November 26, 2012 at 11:09 PM #

    I spent my Thanksgiving weekend eating our vegan leftovers! Delicious!

  5. November 27, 2012 at 7:22 AM #

    What a great opportunity to be invited to the masterclass. While I’m not the biggest fan of Christmas cake/pudding (find it a tad heavy) it’s always interesting to learn from the experts the best way of making it for the pleasure of others. Olives on the other hand, I could eat until the cows come home 🙂

  6. November 27, 2012 at 2:36 PM #

    I’ve just done a big stir-up with a foodie dad pal – Christmas cake, Christmas pud and mincemeat. Washed down with a glug of brandy. Great tradition.

  7. November 27, 2012 at 5:05 PM #

    I CERTAINLY did stir up and have two puddings on my blog! SO sorry I missed this event Nazima, I was invited but could not make it! LOVELY to see you photos and write up though! Karen xxx

  8. December 3, 2012 at 7:04 AM #

    I spent Sunday afternoon baking gingerbread. The kids shaped the dough (stars, angels etc…) I would like to learn the trick of chocolate coated biscuits (ASDA ready made biscuits and chocolate look delicious) my chocolate melts and doesn’t stay in place!!!????

  9. December 10, 2012 at 9:16 PM #

    Loving the new blog look Nazima! Bet you had a fabulous time at Leith’s, the food I’ve had at those Asda events has been great – even if you do have to cook most of it yourself!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas treats for Stir Up Sunday – a masterclass at Leith’s with Asda | Franglais Kitchen - November 25, 2012

    […] Christmas treats for Stir Up Sunday – a masterclass at Leith’s with Asda. […]

Leave a Reply

