Simple and In Season – the October roundup

I am sitting here in awe at the wonderful range of recipes that have been linked up to simple and in season this month. As many of you will know this monthly challenge, set up by Ren Behan is a great way to share recipes using ingredients that are in season local to wherever you live.

First up with some savoury beetroot and Goat Cheese muffins is Choclette. I love the idea of these savoury muffins and can imagine the flavours working really well together, and what colour. Beautiful.

No Kellie over at Food to Glow is cooking up some amazing butternut squash and black bean tacos. These inventive tacos have some japanese seasonings in them and kale so are super healthy but look totally delicious.

japanese butternut squash tacos

 

 

Choclette had a lovely brownie recipe (she is a bit of an expert). This one has apple and ricotta in the batter and sounds like a great way to use up the apple harvest.

And Ren added a traybake, of plum and poppyseed. Plums are so wonderful at the end of the summer, I can imagine these must have tasted divine.

Poppy Seeds and Plum Cake

And then over at Leeks and Limoni, Katharine presents a beautiful salad. Pear, Proscuitto and Blue Cheese. A classic combination and a lovely presentation.

Another entry from Ren, stuffed globe courgettes. These make a lovely warming baked supper I think. Ren has stuffed them with lamb and rice.

Stuffed Globe Courgette

And Ren also presents this recipe from Jerusalem the cookbook by Ottolenghi – spiced roasted squash with Tahini and Za’atar

Roasted Squash Tahini Za'atar

Which was something I also did as my entry this month – though I went a bit off piste, adding some dill pollen to the spice mix, and serving the squash with roasted onion and pan fried Halloumi and polenta.

butternut roasted, ottolenghi

Susan uses apples to make this delicious looking spiced cake. Scented with ginger, cinnamon and allspice I imagine it must smell perfectly seasonal and tempting as it bakes.

And Roz sends a dorset apple traybake. it is packed full of delicious Bramley apple. Yum

Janice has a homemade flatbread that she filled with leek and cheese and grilled it. A carb and cheese laden extravaganza that ticks all the right boxes for me!

Louisa over at Chez Foti has made a seasonally vegged up cottage pie. She manages to sneak in a whole host of vegetables into the dish making it super healthy for her son who clearly loved it. Result!

More pumpkins now with Roz from The more than occasional baker, presenting spiced pumpkin chocolate chip bars.

A perfect snack and one I shall be making for my daughters lunchbox.

More spices and pumpkin in this pumpkin rum and spice loaf cake from Laura at How to cook good food. She has had a harvest of pumpkins from her allotment and has been blogging some wonderful recipes. This one sounds wonderful for afternoon tea.

Over at tastespace, we have a wonderfully seasonal soup. Kobucha squash with fennel, lentils and leeks. A great healthy soup for slow release energy.

Alida has tagliatelle with fresh porcini and cream. A firm favourite in our house, this recipe has me getting hungry even though I have had dinner!

Sarah, over at the garden deli had planned to write about garlic, but scuppered by the weather she instead posted this recipe for parsnip and paprika scones. I love savoury scones and these would make a great side to some soup.

Linzi from Lancashire Food made a wonderful Leek, potato soup with the addition of Thyme. A winter staple recipe for many of us I am sure!

Clare from the vegetarian experience presents a lovely warming winter stew with squash and chickpeas. 

And now how about something different. This Chilli with Beef, Chocolate and Pumpkin from Karen at Lavender and Lovage. It must have a wonderful depth of flavour.

Bonfire Chilli with Beef, Chocolate and Pumpkin

Rita presents this luscious Italian Apple Cake. Topped with a layer of caramelised apples it sounds and looks incredibly more-ish.

Jen at Blue Kitchen Bakes made a wonderful Pumpkin Cake for halloween. Cleverly she used a bundt tin to get the right shape and the icing is a perfect pumpkin shade. Spooktastic!

Katharine over at Leeks and Limoni made a beautiful chocolate pumpkin cake . Like her I have tended to make my pumpkin puree from scratch though I know you can buy the cans of puree in the UK now too!

Sian, at Fishfingers for Tea gives a texture and flavour overhaul to falafel by adding roasted squash which I am sure must make it delicious and moist. One to try.

And how about this roasted squash with Feta and Chorizo over at Gingey bites. I love the colours and flavour combinations here.

Over at Cake, Crumbs and Cooking, these delicious Pumpkin, Chocolate and Ginger cupcakes definitely get my vote.

Over at More than the occasional baker, these beautifully presented mini loaf cakes with spiced apple, honey and beer have persuaded me that mini loaf cake tins are a worthwhile investment.

Jen had a late night baking session to relieve some work stress and came up with these lovely pumpkin and white chocolate nutty blondies. 

Recipe Junkie has a couple of squash recipes to offer but I am particularly drawn by this Lamb Rendang Curry with Squash, which adds coconut milk. Lovely flavours.

Now Camilla at Fab food for all makes a classic tarte tatin look bejewelled through the addition of blueberries. It must taste divine.

Caroline made a roasted squash which she stuffed with a couscous mix. A lovely vegetarian main course I think.

Word in Veg Ways presents a range of pumpkin recipes. I particularly like this pumpkin soup drizzled with cream.

Another tarte tatin – this time a red onion one from Jen at Blue kitchen bakes.  I am sure the onions must be delicious being cooked and effectively roasted they look deliciously caramelised.

Now take a look at this  pumpkin and chocolate layer cake from Laura loves Cake. lovely colours and layers.

Caroline makes this pumpkin chocolate cheesecake. I love the idea of this seasonal cheesecake variation and the swirls of pumpkin sound seriously delicious.

And to end on, let me add this gorgeous winter plum fraisier from Gill, whose post I missed but am adding now – 9/11/12 (not bad to miss just one but still…!)

Great British Bake Off Frasier

Tags:

Categories: Cakes and Bakes, Chocolate, Diet, feature, Fish, header, Main Course, Meat, Savoury, Sides, Simple and In Season, Sweet, Vegetarian

Want to keep up with recipes and stories from Franglais Kitchen? Follow by email

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

18 Comments on “Simple and In Season – the October roundup”

  1. November 8, 2012 at 10:24 PM #

    this is a beautiful round up. Thanks for hosting!

  2. November 8, 2012 at 10:32 PM #

    What a delightful roundup, so many wonderful and varied dishes and I love your descriptions – well done!

  3. laura_howtocook
    November 8, 2012 at 10:35 PM #

    Such an immense round up and you have made this a really enjoyable read. The recipes and ideas make for a very delicious collection of dishes. Well done for all your efforts here xx

  4. November 8, 2012 at 10:44 PM #

    Great round up and some gorgeous sounding recipes. Was my plum Frasier not “simple” enough in the end? Fair enough if that’s the case!

    • November 8, 2012 at 10:48 PM #

      I’m sorry gill. I thought I had caught them all but will pop over and add your lovely fraisier which I remember well when you first blogged it

      • November 9, 2012 at 12:52 PM #

        Im excited about the parsnip scones. I’ve done muffins but scones is a brilliant idea.

  5. November 8, 2012 at 10:57 PM #

    So many recipes – more of a delicious marathon than a round up! You’ll be ready for a cup of tea and a rest now!

  6. November 9, 2012 at 3:40 AM #

    What a great roundup! Everything looks mouth-watering.

  7. November 9, 2012 at 5:56 AM #

    What a lovely lot of entries and several that I’ll be bookmarking.

  8. November 9, 2012 at 11:00 AM #

    A great turnout this month everything looks delicious! 🙂

  9. November 9, 2012 at 1:37 PM #

    Great round up, so many wonderful seasonal ideas here

  10. Jacqueline @How to be a Gourmand
    November 12, 2012 at 5:17 AM #

    Beautiful recipes showcased here Nazima.

  11. November 14, 2012 at 5:15 PM #

    The roundup is such a great idea and you’ve introduced me to so many wonderful blogs along the way. I’d like some of the plum and poppy seed cake right now! I’m going to have to set aside some time to explore your site further. All the best!

  12. November 17, 2012 at 5:38 PM #

    LOVELY round-up thanks Nazima! XXX

  13. November 23, 2012 at 4:42 PM #

    My goodness me, what a fabulous round-up, thank you. As usual I want to try most of the things I’ve seen. I so wish someone would pay me to spend more time in my kitchen!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Dark Chocolate & Prune Plaited Loaf - November 11, 2012

    […] with We Should Cocoa, guest hosted this month by Nazima (my One Ingredient partner) over at Franglais Kitchen. We Should Cocoa is run by Choclette at Chocolate Log Blog and Chele at The Chocolate Teapot. The […]

  2. The rhubarb cake that’ll be right | Sharky Oven Gloves - November 17, 2012

    […] based on first-hand experience.  An experience which comes courtesy of my (non-existent) entry for last month’s Simple and in Season event.  As I poured the batter into my prepared cake tin, I watched the batter level creep […]

  3. Simple and in Season November Round Up and December Link Open - Fabulicious Food - December 17, 2012

    […] to Simple and in Season! Thank you to Nazima at Franglais Kitchen for doing a wonderful job of hosting and rounding up in October. November’s round up  is below and thank you also to everyone for […]

Leave a Reply

