Simple and In Season October

October brings with it dark evenings and the cold of winter begins. Yet there is much beauty in Autumn. The harvest season gives a wide and varied palate for the creative cook.
Squashes, pumpkin, beetroot, artichoke, fig, blackberries, damsons. Some of my favourite fruit and vegetable are now at their best.

test picture

With a newly eating young baby on our hands, we have largely been cooking, pureeing and freezing seasonal produce for the last few months, but we have also enjoyed roasted butternut squash (more of that in a subsequent post), fig tartlets and lots of artichoke.

Aside from fruit and vegetables, lots of game is in season including goose, grouse, guinea fowl, hare and partridge.

This month we are delighted to be hosting the excellent seasonal food link up created by Ren Behan of Fabulicious Food: Simple and in season.

If you need inspiration, here are some websites that Ren has dug out, which are dedicated to finding about what’s in season:

  • What’s in Season (a great website with an A-Z picture guide of what’s in season in Britain)
  • Eat the Seasons (tells you what’s good this week, e.g jersey royal new potatoes, asparagus etc)

JOIN IN!

1. Blog about your seasonal produce or recipe before 31st of October 2012

2. Add a link to this post and use the Simple and in Season badge, and link to Fabulicious Food blog

3. Add the URL link to your post to the Simply Linked widget below

4. If you tweet about your entry, use the #simpleandinseason hashtag. Ren and I will re-tweet any that I see.

More guidelines are over on Ren’s blog
**********************************************************************************************************************
So get cooking and link up your Autumn recipes here – it will open a separate page where you can add your link in.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…


**********************************************************************************************************************

Tags:

Categories: Simple and In Season

Want to keep up with recipes and stories from Franglais Kitchen? Follow by email

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

34 Comments on “Simple and In Season October”

  1. laura_howtocook
    October 5, 2012 at 4:32 PM #

    Well this month certainly has provided me with a number of little pumpkins so I think I will be using them up in every way I can think of. Look forward to joining in! x

    • October 5, 2012 at 8:20 PM #

      Well I am really looking forward to what you come up with Laura ! I have bought a pumpkin, having always been a squash fan I need to try pumpkin recipes.

  2. October 5, 2012 at 5:55 PM #

    Nazima, where’s the linky? Maybe I’m being thick but I’m wanting to link up and can’t find the bit where that happens. Cheers, m’dear.

    • October 5, 2012 at 8:19 PM #

      Hi Kellie, I have added the linky at the bottom. Don’t worry I shall add in your post manually x

  3. October 5, 2012 at 7:55 PM #

    It’s been a long day, so it could just be me being clueless, but I can’t see the Simple Linked widget anywhere to attach my entry.

    • October 5, 2012 at 8:22 PM #

      Sorry Choclette, teething problems but have added a linkytools widget to allow the link to happen. The link is now at the bottom of the post

      • October 5, 2012 at 8:53 PM #

        Oh, didn’t realise this was your new blog Nazima – thought I was talking to someone I didn’t know. How weird. It’s looking good though.

        • October 7, 2012 at 11:21 PM #

          Yes sorry Choclette, I am moving over to this site gradually. It seems a natural evolution since we are moving out of London not to be at Working London Mummy!

  4. October 8, 2012 at 6:29 PM #

    I am a simple and in season groupie so I will be entering Nazima! The linky will disappear if you edit in non HTML view, so make sure you only edit in HTML and it will not disappear! Hope that helps Karen 🙂

  5. October 12, 2012 at 2:48 PM #

    Hi Nazima thank you for getting this up and running, I have added my link and also have updated the badge on my blog, hopefully people know where to come! Hope you are settling well into your new Franglais home! x

  6. October 19, 2012 at 10:43 AM #

    Hello! I have just added my link for creamy tagliatelle with mushrooms but I am not sure how well I cropped my picture!

  7. October 19, 2012 at 3:14 PM #

    Hi, I think I’ve added a link to some parsnip and paprika scones! Really like your new blog!

  8. October 22, 2012 at 2:41 PM #

    Oooohh I’ve not done this challenge for a couple of months and think its time I tried it again! The recipes so far all look delicious and I’ve got a great recipe for stuffed squash.. best get myself down to the supermarket!

  9. October 23, 2012 at 6:13 PM #

    Ciao Nazima! Well done, new home new blog. You must be very busy lately. Good Luck! I love one ingredient and simple and in season so I I’ve entered two recipes!!

  10. October 24, 2012 at 9:41 PM #

    Hi Nazima, I’ve just added my recipe – Roasted Squash with feta and chorizo! http://www.gingeybites.com

    • November 4, 2012 at 1:41 PM #

      Wonderful Alex I shall be over to look and do the roundup post shortly

  11. October 28, 2012 at 9:30 PM #

    Oooh do mushrooms count? I love this time of year but sadly won’t get a post up by wed. Looking forward to the round up already tho. xx

  12. November 4, 2012 at 1:33 PM #

    Thanks Ren I shall be onto that as soon as possible! Lots of yummy entries this month

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Japanese-style Butternut Squash and Black Bean Tacos + Highlights from FBC2012 | food to glow - October 5, 2012

    […] am sneaking this over to Simple and In Season, being co-hosted by Nazima at Franglais Kitchen, and Ren the brains behind Fabulicious Food. Please go and visit to see what other seasonal goodies […]

  2. October One Ingredient Linky – Squash and Pumpkin and an Ottolenghi inspired Squash dish. | Franglais Kitchen - October 5, 2012

    […] As squash is seasonal I am also linking this to Ren Behan’s Simple and in Season linky that I am also hosting this month,  find out more and link up here! […]

  3. Use Up Your Glut: Poppy Seed and Plum Cake - October 12, 2012

    […] I’m also linking this up to Simple and in Season, this month being hosted by Nazima at her new blog, Franglais Kitchen. […]

  4. Stuffed Globe Courgettes with Lamb, Cinnamon and Rice - Fabulicious Food - October 12, 2012

    […] linking this post up to Simple and in Season, this month hosted by Nazima at Franglais Kitchen as well as to Herbs on a Saturday at Lavender and Lovage as the fresh mint on top of these little […]

  5. Winter Frasier (Spiced Plum) « Tales of pigling bland - October 12, 2012

    […] Also submitting to Simple and in season hosted by Franglais Kitchen […]

  6. Roasted Kabocha Squash Soup with Chickpeas, Leeks and Fennel « the taste space – steam, bake, boil, shake! - October 18, 2012

    […] is my submission to Deb for this week’s Souper Sundays, to this month’s Simple and In Season and to this month’s Monthly Mingle for […]

  7. Creamy tagliatelle with fresh mushrooms | My Little Italian Kitchen - October 19, 2012

    […] are in the woods now so I am linking this to Simple and in Season hosted this month by  Franglais Kitchen and created by Ren Behan’s at Fabulicious […]

  8. A change of plan « The Garden Deli - October 19, 2012

    […] Simple and in Season blog challenge, which is being hosted this month by Nazima and Pierre at Franglais Kitchen.  If you’re looking for seasonal inspiration there’s plenty to be had over at their […]

  9. Organic October and Autumn Suppers: Bonfire Chilli with Beef, Chocolate and Pumpkin - October 23, 2012

    […] am also entering this into Simple and in Season, as it is a VERY seasonal recipe – hosted by Ren and this month, guest hosted by […]

  10. Apple Cake - October 23, 2012

    […] I’m entering this recipe into the Simple and In Season October which is organised by Ren Behan from Fabulicious Food and this month and is hosted by Nazima and Pierre over at Franglais Kitchen. […]

  11. Organic October and Autumn Suppers: Bonfire Chilli with Beef, Chocolate and Pumpkin | Tots 100 - October 26, 2012

    […] am also entering this into Simple and in Season, as it is a VERY seasonal recipe – hosted by Renand this month, guest hosted […]

  12. Apple & Blueberry Tarte Tatin + Mermaid & Oxo Giveaway » Fab Food 4 All - October 26, 2012

    […] as well as Fabulicious Food’s “Simple and in Season” challenge which is being hosted by Franglais Kitchen this […]

  13. Recipe: Apple & Quince (Syrup) CrumbleFuss Free Flavours - October 28, 2012

    […] Sending this to Ren’s Simple and In Season, hosted this month by Nazima on her new site Franglais Kitchen. […]

  14. Roasted Squash with Tahini and Za'atar from Jerusalem - Fabulicious Food - October 30, 2012

    […] will also be rounding up October’s Simple and in Season event and in a couple of days, Simple and in Season will be back home at Fabulicious Food! for […]

  15. Simple and in Season - November - Fabulicious Food - November 3, 2012

    […] out for Nazima’s round up for October over at Franglais Kitchen – there were over 40 entries again so it may take some […]

  16. mylittleitaliankitchen.com – Creamy tagliatelle with fresh mushrooms - November 26, 2012

    […] are in the woods now so I am linking this to Simple and in Season hosted this month by  Franglais Kitchen and created by Ren Behan’s at Fabulicious […]

Leave a Reply

